• planningdevelopment_content

Planning and Community Development Department

  • Design & Historic Preservation

  • Historic Preservation Awards

    May is Preservation Month, an effort spearheaded by the National Trust for Historic Preservation that began in 1971 as Preservation Week and was expanded to a month-long celebration in 2005.

    In Pasadena, historic preservation month has been celebrated since 2004 with an annual awards program that recognizes positive contributions to historic preservation in the city. Awards are given to property owners, designers/architects and contractors for exceptional historic resource restoration or rehabilitation projects. Awards have also been given to recognize individuals that have contributed to multiple projects, for positive infill projects in historic neighborhoods, and for historic preservation educational efforts.   

    The 2014 Historic Preservation Awards will be held in late May (event date and location to be announced).  The City is currently accepting nominations for the 2014 awards program. Any interested party may submit a nomination using this nomination form.  Nominations are due by 5:00 pm, Monday, April  21, 2014. 

    Below are last year's Historic Preservation Award recipients:



    267 West State Street 

    Merwin House 

    Owner: Kate Sherlock

    Council District 6


    267 W State Street Merwin House 







    599 E. Colorado Boulevard 

    American Express Travel & Lifestyle Services 

    Council District 3


    American Express 










    460 Bellefontaine Street 

    Henry Ware House 

    Owner: Marc & Tiffany Harris

    Council District 6


     460 Bellefontaine Street Henry Ware House 





    Adpative Use 




    234 E. Colorado Boulevard 

    BJ's Restaurants, Inc. 

    Council District 6


     BJs 2 









    631 Cypress Avenue 

     Urban Homstead 

    Owner: Dervaes Family


     631 Cypress Avenue Homestead House 





    Education & Individual/Group 






    Pasadena Digital History Collaboration  

    Founders: Martha Camacho

    Laura Verlaque

    Linda Stewart

    Dan McLaughlin

    Mary Ann Laun

    Michelle Turner

    Design & Historic Preservation Slide Contribution & Exhibit:

    Jessenia Montoya


    Click here to download a chart of all past award recipients from 2004-2013.